To conclude England’s Ashes tour, they participate in a T20 tri-series tournament against Australia and New Zealand

Fixtures are as follows

Friday 3rd Feb Australia v New Zealand, Sydney
Tuesday 7th Feb Australia v England, Hobart
Friday 10th Feb Australia v England Melbourne
Thursday 16th Feb New Zealand v Australia Auckland
Saturday 18th Feb New Zealand v England Hamilton
Tuesday 21st Feb, the Final Auckland

Aside from the inclusion of stand-in captain David Warner, the squad is a virtually Big Bash all-stars team with the rest of Australia’s Test representatives heading to South Africa to prepare for March’s four-match series. Steve Smith will be rested, while Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Patrick Cummins will also prepare for the South African tour, as will Tim Paine and Mitchell Marsh.

And given that, chief T20 selector Mark Waugh said a lot of the onus would fall on Maxwell to step up in the big moments as management begin to turn an eye towards the home World T20 in 2020 and lifting the team from a lowly No.7 world ranking.

Hobart’s D’Arcy Short is in line to make his international debut, as is Sydney Sixers’ quick Ben Dwarshuis, while Adelaide wicketkeeper Alex Carey is set to pick up his maiden T20 cap.

“Although this team is probably not a full strength I think it’s a great opportunity for some players to show how good they are.We’re going to need a squad, a good depth, to be a force in T20 cricket.”

AUSTRALIA’S TWENTY20 TRI-SERIES SQUAD: David Warner (capt), Aaron Finch (vc), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Ben Dwarshuis, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

Ben Stokes and Joe Root were included in England’s 16-man squad for the T20 tri-series against Australia and New Zealand, but Moeen Ali and Jonny Bairstow will not feature.

Durham all-rounder Stokes has not played for England since their ODI victory over Windies in September. Joe Root was named in England’s initial squad, but was withdrawn before the tournament started to allow him a break from playing. Ben Stokes confirmed he would not join the England squad until after his court appearance on 13 February 2018. Mark Wood, who last played for England during the Test series against South Africa in July, Sam Billings and James Vince are all recalled after they missed England’s most recent T20 international to Windies in September.

England T20 Tri-Series squad: EJG Morgan (Captain), SW Billings, JC Buttler (wkt), TK Curran, LA Dawson, AD Hales, CJ Jordan, DJ Malan, LE Plunkett, AU Rashid, JE Root, JJ Roy, BA Stokes, JM Vince, DJ Willey, MA Wood.